Reviews > CD > Flickerstick – Welcoming Home the Astronauts
Everyday Flickerstick
Welcoming Home the Astronauts

   So by winning VH1's Bands on the Run, your band gets all the perks. You get the chance to play for all the major labels, a bunch of new equipment, a bunch of money, your debut video thrown into the mix on VH1 (by the way, has anyone seen it since), and last but certainly not least….your debut on the!!

   Luckily I was able to get myself a copy of Flickerstick's Welcoming Home the Astronauts. If you don't have one, it might be a while unless you want to pay an arm and a leg on Ebay. The CD opens with "Lift" a short interlude to set the theme for the CD. "Talk Show Host" is not a bad song and it fits nicely with "Lift," but it is certainly not a great song. By track 3, Flickerstick starts to kick it into high gear.

    "Chloroform The One You Love," "Coke," and "Beautiful" are all great pop-rock songs, especially the latter two. The songs scour numerous topics and leave a lot for the listeners to interpret for themselves. Other songs such as "Your so Hollywood," "Got a Feeling" and "Right Way to Fly," are not exactly bad songs but leave a little bit to desire.

    The high point of the CD comes by the last song, "Direct Line to the Telepathic." Singer Brandin Lea's vocals are absolutely amazing on this track. In my opinion, this song alone is worth purchasing the CD. Of course the song for their debut video ("Smile") is not on the CD but will be on their major label debut. Do yourself a favor and check this band out if you get the chance. You won't regret it.


1. Lift (With Love We Will Survive)
2. Got A Feeling
3. Beautiful
4. Smile
5. Coke
6. Sorry...Wrong Trajectory
7. Chloroform The One You Love
8. You're So Hollywood
9. Talk Show Host
10. Hey Or When The Drugs Wear Off
11. Direct Line To The Telepathic
12. Execution By X-Mas Lights